Water… lots and lots of water

Last year I noticed I was getting very tired very easily. I wasn’t lacking on sleep, I was going to the gym at least 2 times a week, enjoying my job and life in general…but over a period of 5-6 weeks I was very tired and even sluggish sometimes. I wondered if my iron levels were low, so (having put it off longer than I should have) I visited the doctor who booked me in for a blood test. The results were mainly fine but they picked up that I was low on Vitamin D which came as a shock to me! I was prescribed some Vitamin D pills which I took and the problem went away but I’ve noticed the same thing happening again over the past few weeks.

I’m not ‘anti doctor’ or ‘anti pill/medicine’ but I don’t feel comfortable taking pills for every problem and honestly can’t see how I can possibly be low on Vitamin D, so I wondered if there were any changes that I could make without visiting the doctor again or taking more pills. So, I decided to keep it basic and start with increasing my water intake.

Water isn’t usually a drink that I reach for naturally and I know I don’t drink enough but I wanted to make a conscious effort to drink more water. The health benefits of drinking water are not disputed by me!

I have a lovely pink Nike water bottle with a straw attached to drink from and I’ve made sure to carry it with me every day over the past couple of weeks (especially as it’s been so hot in the UK recently!). Overall, I’ve been good at making sure I’m drinking plenty of water but on occasion I do forget – there’s been a few times where I think I’ve only had one bottle of water a day, which is nowhere near enough.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even with the few ‘off days’ I’ve noticed a difference in the way my skin looks and above all how I feel. There’s a big change from my slump of sluggishness I had a few weeks ago where I was needing a lot more sleep and still felt constantly tired to now where I have a lot more energy and feel much more alert.

It sounds like a cliché story to get people to drink more water (I know!) but there seriously isn’t anything more healthier for me right now I believe and when it makes such a big difference, it’s not something I would stop doing just because it sounds so cliché!

Like I said earlier, water isn’t something that I naturally reach for – not because I have anything against water or don’t enjoy it, but probably because it just has no taste! So sometimes I’ll cheat a little and add some squash but I try to keep that to a minimum as it’s not great for the teeth.

One thing I do need to do is invest in some reusable ice cubes (if anyone can recommend some good ones please leave me a comment). Water is so much better when it’s super ice cold!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s not to everyone’s liking, but water is probably the healthiest option to drink and it’s important to stay hydrated – it may involve a few more ‘pee breaks’! (TMI!) but your body will thank you for it!

If you don’t drink a lot of water, give it a go for a couple weeks and you really will notice the difference. Leave me a comment if you’ve had similar experiences with water intake or what tactics you use to make sure you drink enough water everyday!

Lina x

3 thoughts on “Water… lots and lots of water

Leave a Reply

